Hammond

The Hammond family moved to Bridge Street, Long Melford from nearby Shimpling, taking over the blacksmith’s forge in the 1770s.[1]

Notes: [1] Based on the baptismal date of Thomas Hammond on 24.7.1778 at Holy Trinity Church, Long Melford.

Genealogical Table

Bridge Street Forge in the 1950s (image courtesy of Long Melford Historical & Archaeological Society)
Bridge Street Forge in 2021 is now a private dwelling (image by the author)
Research by David Gevaux MA © 2026
error: Content is protected !!